7 essential personality traits to be an expat

10 09 2010

Found here: http://www.shelteroffshore.com/index.php/living/more/7-personality-traits-successful-expatriate-10877 through a tweet by: @TelegraphExpat Below is my personal take on the top seven listed in the article.

  1. You see challenges as opportunities: I always see challenges as opportunities, once I’m done feeling sorry for myself, that is.
  2. You believe it’s a small world: I know it’s a small world. Always.
  3. You can think outside the box: There’s a box? I’ve been coloring outside the lines forever.
  4. You don’t sweat the small stuff? Ha! Nope. I tend to under-react as a rule.
  5. You feel free: More and more everyday. Still working on it, but I know that my chains are self-made.
  6. You are adaptable: Beyond my own belief.
  7. You desire change: Painfully desire change.

Please click on the link posted at top for the full article.

As for me, well, I fit this description perfectly. Next blog post will be on my personal top seven fears to overcome to continue on this journey. I know I have what it takes to be more than successful, provided I put a proper perspective on my fears. Fear is toxic when the basis is irrational, and, for me anyway, most fear is irrational, and it remains extremely damaging to my pursuit of goals.


Actions

Information

4 responses

10 09 2010
Stuttgartgirl

Great list! I think being adaptable is the most important since even the simplest things are likely to be different than how you did it at home.

11 09 2010
streetdt

Thanks Stuttgartgirl! I liked the list, too. Thanks so much for giving feedback. It’s important to me to hear from actual people who have done this and are doing this. You all know what it really takes to make it work. Adaptability seems like it would be very important. I like to think of myself as being very adaptable, but I’ve never tested it to this extent before. Only time will tell, but I have faith that I have the traits needed to be successful. All the best! –Daphne

27 09 2010
jantango

You should know about the expats site for English-speakers in Buenos Aires — http://www.baexpats.org

27 09 2010
streetdt

Thank you, jantango! Much appreciated –Daphne

Leave a comment